Skip to content

Libraries

07/12/2011

“At the moment that we persuade a child, any child, to cross that threshold, that magic threshold into a library, we change their lives forever, for the better.”

President (then Senator) Barak Obama

It makes me a little sad to realise that kids won’t know the joy of a library the way I did as a child. I know that there is plenty of information about and with the internet you need not even leave home to find it, but there is still something to be said for curling up in a dark corner of the quiet library to devour the stack of books you’ve just pulled off the shelves and can’t possibly carry home all by yourself. (images are of handmade notebooks from old library cards by saratops)

>>

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/12/2011 13:20

    I agree, I remember playing librarians with my sister and stamping paper and books alike. We used to go to the local library and read a book a day in the school holidays. Having small children limits the time I have to read these days, however at my sons school they have a link with a school in Zimbabwe. We often buy books for their library and give them our own books so they too can enjoy. This gives me the greatest pleasure.

  2. 07/12/2011 14:17

    Ahh… the luxury of reading a book a day! Lost on me at the time, but such a fond memory looking back. That’s so delightful that your young son is learning to give the gift of reading and building a library! All is not lost!

Leave a Reply

